Touchstone 2011-12 Awards

The six Northern California chapters of the Society for Technical Communication (STC) sponsor an annual technical communication competition. We submit winners in the Distinguished category to the Society-level competitions, where they compete with entries from around the world.


The entry is clearly superior in all areas. It contains no major flaws, and few, if any, minor flaws. It applies the principles of technical communication in an outstanding way, particularly in the way it anticipates and fulfills the needs of its audience.

Autodesk Inventor WikiHelp


Kristen Kent                          Claudia Wood

Sonoma Medicine

Sonoma County Medical Association

Steve Osborn                         Cynthia Melody                          Linda McLaughlin
Erika Goodwin                      Rachel Pandolfi


The entry consistently meets high standards in all areas. It might contain a single major flaw or a few minor flaws. The entry clearly demonstrates an exceptional understanding of technical communication principles.

Parallels Desktop 7 for Mac User's Guide


Jason Cabassi                        Andrey Starovoitov                      Christina Kajtsa
Tanya Romanova

Chatter Video Library

Dean Atchison                      Noella Tavares                            Sarah Marovich


The entry consistently meets high standards in most areas. It might contain a small number of major or minor flaws but it still applies technical communication principles in a highly proficient manner.

Advent Revenue Center 3.0: Completing Your Billing Cycle


Stewart Florsheim                 Heather Donnell

Moxy 7: Using the Portfolio Manager


Stewart Florsheim                 John Biasatti

AT3545G Full Spectrum DWDM Transmitters—Installation and Activation Guide


Vince Swanson                      Ed Perry                                       Greg Heath

GT3410A T1/E1 Access Module Installation and Activation Guide TM 87-10444


Fred M Wickersham            Shridhar Kulkarni                       Chuck Becker
Ed Perry

TN-10-002—OR4148H RFoG and TN-10-007—OR4168H RFPON Diplexer/Return Receiver Installation and Setup


Vince Swanson                      Ed Perry                                       Glenn Carley

AutoCAD User Assistance Videos


Jonathan Geary                     Allen Lowe                                   Marianne Schwerdtfeger

Energy IQ: Australia's Champion of Conservation


Claire Tom                            Wai Tu

Corel Painter 12 Getting Started Guide


Carmen Humplik                 Nadezda Vladimirova                Ludmila Minkova
Corel Painter Development Team

Oracle PeopleSoft Information Development – Hosted Documentation Website


Hideto Kishi                          Jessica True                                Lisa Brown

Oracle PeopleSoft Information Development – PeopleSoft Information Portal


Greg Parikh                           Race Bannon

Oracle PeopleSoft Information Development – Upgrade Resources Report Tool


Greg Parikh                           Laurice Strickland

Pegasus Product Manual, v1.0

PROMISE Technology

Daniel Doornbos

Chatter Help

Sarah Marovich                     Lauren Pederson                        Chris McGuire
Kristen Powell                       Noella Tavares                            Liane Yee
Stefanie Andersen                Sheri Bernard Workbook

Jon Mountjoy                         Mike Jacobsen

ISVforce Workbook

Mario Korf

Java for Heroku Workbook

Mark Leonard                       James Ward

STC Silicon Valley Website

STC Silicon Valley Chapter

DJ Cline                                 Doug Wray                                  Todd Hawley

vSphere 5 Videos


Renate Kempf                       Amy Bowman                              Chuck Potter
Doreen Kasson                      Gary Gray                                    Diane Huffman
Svetlana Voskoboinikova

NanoSec Product Guide

Write Quick

Monique Semp


The following people evaluated the entries: Mysti Berry, Melody Brumis, DJ Cline, Nathaniel Lim, Patrick Lufkin, Michael Meyer, Joy Montgomery, Chris Muntzer, Bruce Poropat, Frank Ripp, Vince Swanson, Gail Waldron, and Prescott Williams


The following people volunteered in non-judging roles: Guy Haas, Judith Herr, Misty Herr, Joe Humbert, Patrick Lufkin, and Richard Mateosian